KOLAVERI RAGE.


Debutant music composer Anirudh Ravichander unravels the mystery behind the new song.

IN FOCUS

Keeping aside political issues, scams and who’s entering The house, the event that’s making headlines is The Kolaveri song. We call it an event, because it’s the first regional track to top charts and be aired on radio stations across the nation, let alone music channels. ‘The Soup song’ has been viewed over 1.8 million times on the internet domain, that too in just days of its release. It’s now the most searched song on video sharing websites and Tweeple are taking to Kolaveri as the latest trend word. Apart from the amateur, quirky yet fun Tanglish lyrics, what sets the song apart from other such released tracks is its catchy tune. And the man behind it is none other than a 21-year-old debutant music composer, Anirudh Ravichander. A tete-atete with the lad who’s got the nation headbanging to the Kolaveri tune.
Just 21 and a music composer already! Tell us about it?
Basically what happened, in college, Aishwarya (the director) shot many short films for which I had composed music. Now she’s taken the big leap and so my debut album; precisely my big leap too (laughs). Music has been on my mind ever since I was four. I finished all my grades from the Trinity College of Music. I have been part of a band both in school and high school. It was more about carnatic fusion back then. I started playing the piano real young, though my initial tunes were horrendous (I laugh at them now,) I’ve come a long way. In college, I became a part of a rock band. Though the influences paid off pretty well, my main interest always lies in commercial music.
Your inspiration if any?
I am born in the 90s and for most musicians my age, AR Rahman is a sure shot idol. Rahman is an inspiration both personally and professionally. Though, I don’t think I’d ever copy his style.
The story of the Soup Song…
Kolaveri Di was made keeping the youth in mind. The whole situation of the song is of love failure. When Aishwarya gave me the cue, I worked on it. The tune and structure was ready in about 5-10 mins (sounds unreal but it’s true.) When Dhanush heard the track I’d composed, he started penning down the lyrics in broken Tamil. The idea we kept in mind was, how would a Tamilian, who doesn’t know English, sing a song on love failure? And in less than 20 minutes we were done with the quirky Tanglish track which fit the tune pretty well.


What worked for Kolaveri Di?
It’s wonderful how there’s no language barrier in music. I think that worked for Kolaveri’s success. Not only is the tune catchy and hummable but also are the lyrics quirky and fun. But the USP of the song is got to be it’s colloquialism and that one can relate to the emotion of the song. That’s why this song struck a chord.
Some critics say the lyrics are quite anti-women. Your views…
This is a fun loving song. It’s in no way anti-women. Trust me, I have most respect for women, much more than I have for men. We had fun making this song, and that’s how I work. I need to enjoy while I compose.
A little about the tracks in the album 3?
The Soup song is one of a kind and I can safely say the album is a mix of different genres. No two songs sound alike. There are almost 7 songs in the album and three themes. And yes, included in that is a duet by Shruti Haasan and Dhanush too.
This song is a success; what do you feel about it? What plans next?
I still haven’t recovered from the shock. I feel pretty overwhelmed that my debut song as a composer has topped the charts and has gone global. And thanks to The Soup Song rage, I’ve been flooded with offers, some real big ones too, not only in Kollywood but also in Bollywood. But right now I’m just busy with this album and want to concentrate and focus on it without being carried away. I just want to give my best and live up to the expectations of the people. What I’m looking forward is to compose the background score of the album as that’s what truly judges the ability of a music composer.

Simi Kuriakose.

A MUSIC BOX NEWS.

